Skip to content

Faculty

Full-time Faculty and Postdoc

 

Adjunct Faculty

Name/Title

Contact Information

Areas of Interest

Neil Abercrombie, MPA
Director of Government Relations, Utah State University

neil.abercrombie@usu.edu

Budgeting & Finance, Local Government & Higher Education

Chyleen Arbon, Ph.D.
Utah Board of Pardons and Parole Appointed Member

Chyleen.Arbon@poli-sci.utah.edu

Foundations of Public Administration, Administrative Theory

*Abdul Baksh, Ph.D.
Retired Human Resource Executive, State of Utah

jmbaksh@q.com
801-969-9511

Public Administration, Human Resource Management

*Nancy Basinger, Ph.D.
President and CEO of Big Brothers Big Sisters Utah

nancy.basinger@gmail.com
801-585-3506

Nonprofit Governance, Fundraising and Resource Development, Partnerships, Nonprofit Finance and Budgeting, Research Design

Jerry Benson, Ph.D.
President/CEO, Utah Transit Authority

jbenson@rideuta.com
801-262-5626

Program Evaluation, Organization Communication, Performance Management

Anne Burkholder, MA
Chief Executive Officer, YWCA of Salt Lake City

aburkholder@ywca.com
801-537-8608

Nonprofit Organizations, Strategic Planning & Ethics

Jill Carter, MPA
HR Director, Questar

jille.carter@comcast.net
801-581-9910

Human Resource Management, Compensation

Richard Catten, JD
Retired City Attorney, West Valley City

rcatten@comcast.net
801-918-0465

Local Government Law, Administrative and Constitutional Law

*Catherine Chambless, Ph.D.
Research Associate, Center for Public Policy & Administration, The University of Utah

cathy.chambless@utah.edu801-585-0371

Health Policy & Disability Studies

Mark Christensen, MPA
Saratoga Springs City Manager

markjchristensen@msn.com

Local Government Administration

Sophia DiCaro, MPA
Elected representative for Utah House of Representatives

sophiadicaro@gmail.com

Public Budget & Finance

Gary Edwards, MS
Executive Director, Salt Lake Valley Health Department

gedwards@slco.org
801-468-2700

Health Policy and Administration

Ken Embley
Research Associate, Center for Public Policy & Administration, The University of Utah

ken.embley@cppa.utah.edu
801-581-7261

Adaptive Leadership

Pam Gardiol, MA
President, Gardiol & Associates

pam@gardiol.com
801-920-3473

Organizational Change, Organizational Behavior and Theory

Melissa Yack Hall, Ph.D. 
Executive Director of Weber State University's Center for Community Engaged Learning, Deseret News freelance reporter

 

Public and Media Relations, Nonprofit/Non-governmental Organizations, Community Development, Higher Education Governance and Issues, Performance Management

Jeff Herring, JD, MBA
Chief Human Resource Officer at The University of Utah

jeff.herring@utah.edu
801-538-3403

Human Resources Management

Rebecca Chavez-Houck, MPA
State Representative, Utah State Legislature

rchouck@comcast.net
801-891-9292

Volunteerism, Nonprofit Management & Boards, & Ethics

David Litvack, MS
Salt Lake County Criminal Justice Advisory Council Director

davidlitvack@hotmail.com

Nonprofit and Grassroots Advocacy

 

Tony Mastracci, BSBA, MPA
Chief Operating Officer, Community Foundation of Utah

 tony.mastracci@utah.edu Third Sector Organizations, Collaborations between Universities and Nonprofits

Jason Mathis, MPA
Executive Director, Downtown Alliance

 Jason@downtownslc.org

Negotiation, Communication and Public Participation

Ed McConkie, JD
Bureau Chief, Bureau of Criminal Identification

mcconkieed@comcast.net
801-965-4571

Criminal Justice Policy & Juvenile Justice Policy

Scott Mietchen, MPA
President, Fund Raising Counsel

scott.mietchen@frcigroup.com
801-363-6515

Developing Revenue in Nonprofits

*Steve Nelson, JD, Ph.D.
U.S. Attorney's Office

stephenlowenelson@gmail.com

Administrative Theory, Administrative and Constitutional Law, & Immigrant Policy and Law

*David Patton, Ph.D.
CEO, Molina Healthcare 



Human Resources Management, Health Policy, Leadership and Organizational Theory

*Sandi Pershing, Ph.D.
Assistant Vice President, Continuing Education at The University of Utah

sandi.pershing@utah.edu
801-581-7297
Leadership Theory, Practice of Public Management, Organizational Behavior and Theory

K. Martin Ricks, MPA
Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

martin.ricks@rickspartners.com

Public Budgeting & Finance

Robert Spendlove, MPA
State Representative & Zions Bank Policy Coordinator
rspendlove@gmail.com Public Policy Theory & Analysis

Dr. Tim Tingey
City Manager, Cottonwood Heights

Local Government Economic Development, Finance & Governance, Ethics, Capstone

Juliette Tennert, MS
Director of Economic and Public Policy Research at The University of Utah Policy Institute

 jtennert@utah.gov Public Budgeting & Finance,  Economics

Nate Talley, MPP
Budget & Policy Economist, Utah Governor's Office of Management and Budget

natetalley@utah.gov Public Budgeting & Finance

*Denotes Major Research Paper professor/instructor

 

Last Updated: 10/6/21