You are here:



Are you following us on our social media pages? Click here to follow us on Instagram, and here to like us on Facebook! 



Jan Bents, alumnus of the MPA program, is currently working at Indiana University in Bloomington, Indiana. We asked him a few questions about how he made his way into higher education, and what advice he has for current and prospective MPA students. Read the full spotlight here

 MPA student Caitlin McDonald recently presented research at the Center for Research on Migration & Refugee Integration's (CRMRI) first Research Symposium. 

Caitlin's presentation was entitled: "Why Aren't They Asking for Help? Refugee Service Providers' Perceptions of Needs and Best Practices Related to the Mental Health of Refugee Women in Utah" 



March 23, 2019


Congratulations to Dr. Valero's Managing Nonprofit Organizations course (Spring 2019) for the recent completion of their reports for Comunidad Materna en Utah (CMU). Click here to view the reports! 

March 3, 2019

job board

A big thanks to all of our incredible alumni and faculty that attended the first Public Affairs mentoring event of the semester! Students in the MPA, MPP, and MIAGE programs were paired up with like-minded alumni and faculty that are currently working in the public sector right here in Utah! Students had the opportunity to get to know prominent change makers in the community, as well as hear from our fantastic director Dr. Lina Svedin. Thanks to all who participated!

February 12, 2019

2018 Grads

Congratulations to Dr. Valero's Nonprofit Mangement Class (Fall 2017) for the recent publishment of their reports for Latino Behavioral Health Services (LBHS). Click here to view the reports! 

November 1, 2018

Jesus Valero

Congratulations to assistant professor Dr. David Carter on his recent op-ed piece published by The Hill. Check it out here!   



Congratulations to Dr. Robert Forbis on the publication of his upcoming book: Altered Policy Landscapes: Fracking, Grazing, and the BLM. Look for it April 6, 2019! 

Sarah Balland is now a Policy Analyst at the Utah Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel.

Mike Johnson is now the Community and Economic Development Director for the City of Cottonwood Heights.

Ryan Thelin was recently hired by the Legislative Auditors Office.

LaNiece Davenport is now the Government Relations Manager at the Wasatch Front Regional Council.


The MPA Program is currently accepting applications for the Fall 2019 semester. The final deadline is June 30, 2019. 

 Academic Calendar



Last Updated: 4/23/19