You are here:

Faculty

Full-time Faculty and Postdoc

Name / Title Contact Information Research Interests

*Matthew Burbank
Professor
Political Science
Website

801- 581-6313

Building 73 (Old Law Building), Room 232
mburbank@poli-sci.utah.edu

Research Methodology, Political Psychology, Political Behavior

*Rick Green
Professor
Website

801-581-6223

Building 73 (Old Law Building), Room 211 

rick.green@mpa.utah.edu

Historical Public Administration, Administrative Theory, Human Resource Management, Administrative Ethics, Local Government Administration

*Sharon Mastracci

Associate Professor

Website

801-581-7031

Building 73 (Old Law Building), Room 229

Sharon.Mastracci@poli-sci.utah.edu

Emotional Labor, Managing Diverse Organizations, Governance and the Economy, Quantitative Methods and Research Design

*Daniel McCool
Director of Environmental Studies & Professor
Website

801-585-6455
Building 73 (Old Law Building), Room 230
dan.mccool@poli-sci.utah.edu

Public Policy Theory, Natural Resource Policy, American Indian Policy

*Paul Morris

Professional Lecturer, JD

paultmorris@outlook.com

Administrative and Constitutional Law, Local Government Administration, Public Policy & Governance

*J. Steven Ott
Professor
Website

801-585-7406
Building 73 (Old Law Building), Room 237 
jsott@cppa.utah.edu

Nonprofit and NGO Governance and Organizations,  Organization Theory and Behavior, Organizational Change, Administrative Theory

 

*Peri Schwartz- Shea
Professor, Political Science
Website

801-581-6300

Building 73 (Old Law Building), Room 232
psshea@poli-sci.utah.edu

American Politics and Policy, Public Choice Theory, Public Administration, Bureaucracy, Methodology, Gender and Feminism

*Chris Simon
Professor
 Website

801-585-3544
Building 73 (Old Law Building), Room 211 

simon@cppa.utah.edu

Alternative Energy; Education, Criminal Justice, Homeland Security & Land Use Policy, Military Sociology, Sustainability & Governance

*Lina Svedin
MPA Program Director & Associate Professor
Website

801-585-7984
Building 73 (Old Law Building), Room 229
lina.svedin@poli-sci.utah.edu

Crisis Management and Conflict Resolution, Policy Analysis, Ethics, Administrative Theory

*David Carter         

Assistant Professor, Political Science        

Website

 801-581-7031

Building 73 (Old Law Building), Room 221

david.carter@mpa.utah.edu

 Policy Analysis, Regulatory Program Design and Implementation

 

*Jesus Valero

Assistant Professor, Political Science

Website

 801-581-7031

Building 73 (Old Law Building), Room 221

jesus.valero@utah.edu

Nonprofit Organizations, Public Sevice Leadership, Cross-Sector Collaboration, Technology Adoption in the Public/Nonprofit Sector


*denotes Major Research Paper professor/instructor


Adjunct Faculty 

Name/Title

Contact Information

Areas of Interest

Neil Abercrombie, MPA
Director of Government Relations, Utah State University

neil.abercrombie@usu.edu

Budgeting & Finance, Local Government & Higher Education

Chyleen Arbon, Ph.D.
Utah Board of Pardons and Parole Appointed Member

Chyleen.Arbon@poli-sci.utah.edu

Foundations of Public Administration, Administrative Theory

*Abdul Baksh, Ph.D.
Retired Human Resource Executive, State of Utah

jmbaksh@q.com
801-969-9511

Public Administration, Human Resource Management

*Nancy Basinger, Ph.D.
President and CEO of Big Brothers Big Sisters Utah

nancy.basinger@gmail.com
801-585-3506

Nonprofit Governance, Fundraising and Resource Development, Partnerships, Nonprofit Finance and Budgeting, Research Design

Jerry Benson, Ph.D.
President/CEO, Utah Transit Authority

jbenson@rideuta.com
801-262-5626

 Program Evaluation, Organization Communication, Performance Management

Anne Burkholder, MA
Chief Executive Officer, YWCA of Salt Lake City

aburkholder@ywca.com
801-537-8608

Nonprofit Organizations, Strategic Planning & Ethics

Jill Carter, MPA
HR Director, Questar

jille.carter@comcast.net
801-581-9910

Human Resource Management, Compensation

Richard Catten, JD
Retired City Attorney, West Valley City

rcatten@comcast.net
801-918-0465

Local Government Law, Administrative and Constitutional Law

*Catherine Chambless, Ph.D.
Research Associate, Center for Public Policy & Administration, The University of Utah

cathy.chambless@utah.edu 801-585-0371

Health Policy & Disability Studies

Mark Christensen, MPA
Saratoga Springs City Manager

markjchristensen@msn.com

Local Government Administration

Sophia DiCaro, MPA
Elected representative for Utah House of Representatives

sophiadicaro@gmail.com

Public Budget & Finance

Gary Edwards, MS
Executive Director, Salt Lake Valley Health Department

gedwards@slco.org
801-468-2700

Health Policy and Administration

Ken Embley
Research Associate, Center for Public Policy & Administration, The University of Utah

ken.embley@cppa.utah.edu
801-581-7261

Adaptive Leadership

Pam Gardiol, MA
President, Gardiol & Associates

pam@gardiol.com
801-920-3473

Organizational Change, Organizational Behavior and Theory

Melissa Yack Hall, Ph.D. 

Executive Director of Weber State University's Center for Community Engaged Learning, Deseret News freelance reporter

 

 

Public and Media Relations, Nonprofit/Non-governmental Organizations, Community Development, Higher Education Governance and Issues, Performance Management

Jeff Herring, JD, MBA
Chief Human Resource Officer at The University of Utah

jeff.herring@utah.edu
801-538-3403

Human Resources Management

Rebecca Chavez-Houck, MPA
State Representative, Utah State Legislature

rchouck@comcast.net
801-891-9292

Volunteerism, Nonprofit Management & Boards, & Ethics

David Litvack, MS
Salt Lake County Criminal Justice Advisory Council Director

 

davidlitvack@hotmail.com

Nonprofit and Grassroots Advocacy

 

Tony Mastracci, BSBA, MPA
Chief Operating Officer, Community Foundation of Utah

Website

 tony.mastracci@utah.edu  Third Sector organizations, collaborations between universities and nonprofits

Jason Mathis, MPA
Executive Director, Downtown Alliance

 Jason@downtownslc.org

Negotiation, Communication and Public Participation

Ed McConkie, JD
Bureau Chief, Bureau of Criminal Identification

mcconkieed@comcast.net
801-965-4571

Criminal Justice Policy & Juvenile Justice Policy

Scott Mietchen, MPA
President, Fund Raising Counsel

scott.mietchen@frcigroup.com
801-363-6515

Developing Revenue in Nonprofits

*Steve Nelson, JD, Ph.D.
U.S. Attorney's Office

stephenlowenelson@gmail.com

Administrative Theory, Administrative and Constitutional Law, & Immigrant Policy and Law

*David Patton, Ph.D.
CEO, Molina Healthcare 
Website



Human Resources Management, Health Policy, Leadership and Organizational Theory

*Sandi Pershing, Ph.D.
Assistant Vice President, Continuing Education at The University of Utah

spershing@aoce.utah.edu
801-581-7297
Leadership Theory, Practice of Public Management, Organizational Behavior and Theory

Paul Slack
Brigadier General (Ret)., Marine Corps.

pslack@sisna.com

National Security Policy

Robert Spendlove, MPA
State Representative & Zions Bank Policy Coordinator
rspendlove@gmail.com Public Policy Theory & Analysis

Tim Tingey, Ph.D.
Administrative & Development Services Director, Murray City

Local Government Economic Development, Finance & Governance

Juliette Tennert, MS
Director of Economic and Public Policy Research at The University of Utah Policy Institute

 jtennert@utah.gov  Public Budgeting & Finance,  Economics

Nate Talley, MPP

Budget & Policy Economist, Utah Governor's Office of Management and Budget

natetalley@utah.gov Public Budgeting & Finance

*denotes Major Research Paper professor/instructor

Last Updated: 1/24/17