You are here:

Master of Public Policy and Administration Student Association (MPPASA)



The Master of Public Policy and Administration Student Association (MPPASA) is a student-based, university-recognized organization for MPA and MPP students in the evening and executive programs. MPPASA acts as a student group in the facilitation of the social activities, and as a Student Advisory Committee in the Retention, Promotion, and Tenure of the MPA and MPP faculty. 

It is a student group that organizes and creates academic, professional, and networking opportunities for all MPA and MPP students. Such opportunities are beneficial in that they:

     1) help students solidify and actualize their career goals through professional development

     2) support and aid students in their pursuit of academic excellence

     3) allow students the opportunity to integrate themselves socially and professionally with their peers

     4) help the community through the planning and execution of service projects.


Upcoming Events 

 stay tuned for upcoming events! 


2016-2017 MPPASA Committee


Sarah Balland (XMPA)

Monica Bellenger (XMPA)

Todd Andersen (MPA)

Marci Harris (MPP)


Wendy Rice Award

The MPA program and MPPASA are pleased to sponsor the annual Wendy Rice Award. The award is named in honor of MPA alumna and former program manager Wendy Rice, who passed away far too soon. Wendy was dedicated to helping others succeed and the MPA student association inaugurated the award in her honor in 2004.  

 The award recognizes a student, and faculty/staff/adjunct who exemplify dedication to the MPA Program in and out of the classroom.  Past students winners have, for example, volunteered with the student association and/or led MPA directed services projects, as well as been cohort leaders.  Past winners on the faculty/adjunct/staff side have spent extra hours helping students with research, as well as developed community projects and worked to obtain more scholarship funding for students. These are just a few examples.


Past Recipients

2016 -- Sasha Nicho (Student)                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Wazir Jefferson (Faculty)

2015 -- Sandy Hiskey (Faculty/Staff)                                             

2014 -- Mojdeh Sakaki (Student)                                                                       Stephen L. Nelson (Faculty/Staff)

2013 --Zach Robinson (Student)                                                                      Jill Carter (Faculty)
             Melissa Hall (Staff)

2010 --Megan Rockne (Student)
             Linda Lecheminant (Staff)

2009 --J. Janell Fluckiger (Student)
             Lina Svedin (Faculty)

2008 -- Craig Nielson, Becki Wright,                                                                   Melinda Frandsden (Students)
              Melissa Hall (Staff)

2007 -- Tricia Jack (Student) 
              Ken Hansen (Faculty)

2006 -- Chris Fawcett (Student) 
              Nancy Basinger (Faculty)

2005 -- Angie Stefaniak (Student) 
              Linda LeCheminant (Staff)

2004 -- Jeff Mulitalo (Student) 
              Sandi Parkes (Faculty/Staff)


Last Updated: 2/2/17